Demystifying Vectorization

Free Webinar

Abstract

Have you heard of code vectorization, but not sure how it applies to your work? Rest assured, you are in a good company. Furthermore, even seasoned computing professionals have a good excuse for not being familiar with this concept!

That said, now is a great time to learn about writing vectorized code. That is because in modern Intel processors, vector instructions may speed up arithmetic instructions by up to a factor of 16. However, you must design computational code in a way that makes vector processing possible.

In this 1-hour webinar I will explain what to expect from vectorization, and how to make sure that your code has it:

  • Manual and compiler-assisted vectorization
  • Assessing your success with vectorization
  • Loop was vectorized – what’s next?

Speaker

Andrey VladimirovAndrey Vladimirov, Head of HPC Research, Colfax International

Dr. Andrey Vladimirov’s primary research interest is the application of modern computing technologies to computationally demanding scientific problems. Prior to joining Colfax, Andrey was involved in theoretical astrophysics research at the Ioffe Institute (Russia), North Carolina State University, and Stanford University (USA), where he studied cosmic rays, collisionless plasmas and the interstellar medium using computer simulations. He is the lead author of a book on parallel programming and optimization, a regular contributor to Colfax Research, an author of invited papers in industry-leading publications (1, 2) and an author or co-author of over 10 peer-reviewed publications in the fields of theoretical astrophysics and scientific computing.

Schedule

Date:
June 7, 2017
Time:
16:00-17:00 GMT (convert)
June 2017
SMTWHFS
123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930
       
    — Webinar
GMT 16:00
San Francisco 9:00 am
New York 12:00 noon
London 5:00 pm
Moscow 7:00 pm
New Delhi 9:30 pm
Tokyo 1:00 am

Register for the Webinar

Log in to pre-fill this form or create a FREE account with us.

First Name
Last Name
Email
Country
Organization
Web site
How did you come to know of the MC² Series?

Only click the button once. Registration takes a few seconds.

Review the GoToWebinar Privacy Policy.

Interested in this webinar?